May 19, 2012

National park and conservation Area in Nepal

Nepal is endowed with rich and varied biodiversity. Altitudinal variances in short distance give Nepal's biogeography variety that range from lush moist forests and sparse alpine deserts to luxurious grasslands in lowland Terai. The mountainous country also shelters some of the world's most rare animals.Sagarmatha (Mt. Everest) National Park and Chitwan National Park with typical natural, cultural and landscapecharacteristics were listed as World Heritage sites in 1979 and 1984, respectively.

Goals and Objectives

With the early emphasis on species conservation, the Department’s present priority stresses a conciliatory approach with participatory management of biodiversity. The specific activities of the Department are:
  1. Conservation of endangered and other wildlife species.
  2. Scientific management of habitat for wildlife species.
  3. Creation of buffer zones in and around parks and reserves for the sustainable management of forest resources.
  4. Regulated eco-tourism to improve socio-economic condition of local communities.
  5. Creating awareness of the importance of wildlife conservation through conservation education
Some Related link About the Conservation area and National parks
Listed of National park and conservation Area in Nepal 

Nepal’s landmass of 147,181 km2 (56,827 sq mi) occupies the central part of the Himalayas between the Palearctic and Indomalaya ecozones. Altitude ranges from 67 m above sea level in the south-eastern Terai to 8,848 m at Sagarmatha within a short horizontal span. This extreme altitudinal gradient has resulted in 11 bio-climatic zones ranging from lower tropical below 500 m to nival above 5000 m in the High Himalaya, encompassing nine terrestrial ecoregions with 36 vegetation types. Botanists recorded 1,120 species of non-flowering plants and 5,160 species of flowering plants. Nepal ranks 10th in terms of richest flowering plant diversity in Asia. Zoologists recorded 181 mammal species, 844 bird species, 100 reptile species, 43 amphibian species, 185 freshwater fish species, and 635 butterfly species. In recognition of the magnitude of biodiversity the Government of Nepal has established a network of 17 protected areas since 1973, consisting of ten national parks, three wildlife reserves, three conservation areas and one hunting reserve. Additionally, three Ramsar sites were declared in 2003.

National parks

1.       Chitwan National Park – 932 km2
2.       Sagarmatha National Park – 1,148 km2
3.       Langtang National Park – 1,710 km2
4.       Rara National Park – 106 km2
5.       Khaptad National Park – 225 km2
6.       Shey Phoksundo National Park – 3,555 km2
7.       Bardiya National Park – 968 km2
8.       Makalu Barun National Park – 1,500 km2
9.       Shivapuri Nagarjun National Park – 159 km2
10.   Banke National Park – 550 km2

Wildlife reserves

1.       Koshi Tappu Wildlife Reserve – 175 km2
2.       Parsa Wildlife Reserve – 499 km2
3.       Sukla Phanta Wildlife Reserve – 305 km2

Conservation areas

1.       Annapurna Conservation Area – 7,629 km2
2.       Manaslu Conservation Area – 1,663 km2
3.       Kanchenjunga Conservation Area – 2,035 km2
4.       Makalu-barun conservation area-1,500;km2
5.       Api nampa conservation area-1,903; km2
6.       Gaurishankar conservation area-2,179km2
7.       Blackbuck conservation aera-15,95km2

Hunting Reserve

1.       Dhorpatan Hunting Reserve – 1,325 km2

Ramsar Sites

1.       Beeshazar Tal – 3,200 ha
2       Ghodaghodi Tal – 2,563 ha
3.       Jagdishpur Reservoir – 225 ha

No comments: